top of page

FINA, THE FRIENDLY ADMIN

Updated: Mar 6, 2019

- An Amiable Idol -


Tucked away in the far reaches of Edu Champ Academic Mentiri is the admin staff Fina! If you frequent that particular branch, you will be sure be greeted by her sweet smiles and her eagerness to help you with whatever you need. For a person that is so giving with her attentions, it's time to shine the spotlight on Kaka Fina!


(Disclaimer : Much of the interview was conducted in the Malay language, so some words have been translated)


ECA : How did you get into working as an admin here?


FINA : Mm… This is like my first job after eight years without work. Mm… I’m a housewife, actually. When I moved to my new house in Mentiri, my friend Niya introduced this job to me, about being an admin. And I thought “Why not try this type of work, like that?”. This was all very new to me. Totally new. Like accounting… And then, admin work… At first, yes, it was a little complicated. It was quite hard to take in everything that they were teaching me. I had a difficult time, stressful time, but I handled it okay in the end. Alhamdulilah.


ECA : How does your husband feel about you transitioning into this job?


FINA : We’ve been together for almost 10 years! (Laughs) Okay. At first, of course, he was a bit…ehhh. But the first thing he was okay about, was the timings. Because if it was during the afternoon, he can come home and send me to work right away. And at night, he’s around. But even so, sometimes, I pity him too, because he’s all alone at home. (Laughs) Because I used to be the one waiting for him at home.


ECA : Do you ever think about becoming a teacher instead?


FINA : Me? Teaching? (Laughs) That one is one of my dream job before, actually. But now, no. Because I’ve seen the teachers stressed. If handling the kids. (Laughs) Especially the Primary 1 students.


ECA : Psst. Tell us a secret. Are there any tasks in particular that you dislike?


FINA : So… like, that… Mmm…. Things I don’t like about being an admin? Not really. I love this job! (Laughs) Yes. If… there’s anything at all I don’t like about this job? Nothing. I think it’s because I’m used to it, I’m used to it! (Laughs) Because, if I was at home, I’d be all alone, right? Just doing house chores and cleaning. So even if I’m working now, it’s something that I’m used to. Yes. So it’s comfortable, doing this kind of work.


ECA : Wow! So what’s your most favourite thing about being an admin then?


FINA : There’s a lot to do! Really, like, I can do so much, so many things to do here. Liat.. I don’t know ah, I don’t know how to explain actually. But like, this job is fun! Things like, texting with parents, and then learning new things about children, handling the tutor’s schedules. I love this job, really, truly.




Thank you so much for agreeing to the interview, Fina. Your love for the job truly has us humbled. ECA is truly lucky to have you working the front desks and making Mentiri feel like home. We hope you continue working with us for many more years!

51 views
bottom of page